If you have been charged with DUI in Michigan, you face some tough penalties. If this is your first offense, you could lose your driver’s license for up to a year. If you have a prior conviction, expect to face a minimum of 20 days in jail, up to a year. You could also lose your license for three years.
Prosecutors Don’t Play Around
I have been providing DUI defense for drivers in eastern Virginia for more than 38 years. As a former substitute judge, I can say that I have seen people’s lives turned upside down and their futures ruined by a DUI conviction. Assistant prosecutors have every resource available to them to make sure they get a guilty plea and harsh penalties.
Don’t wait to see what the prosecutor will do next. Call my office as soon as possible. I will meet with you to explain the legal process and protect your rights. I will aggressively investigate the evidence the police had for making the traffic stop and whether your rights were protected throughout the field sobriety and Breathalyzer testing. Through everything, I will be working aggressively to help you find an alternative to a conviction.
To Parents Of College Students
Under Michigan law, a driver under the age of 21 can be charged with DUI if his or her blood alcohol content (BAC) is just .02 percent. For some college students, this means that a single mixed drink can put them over the limit. If your son or daughter has been charged with DUI in the tri-county area, call me for immediate assistance. We will work hard to protect his or her promising future and keep a DUI off the driving record.
Did You Refuse To Take The BAC Test?
If you refused to take a Breathalyzer or blood test, you may have prevented the police from gathering evidence of DUI, but you also face up to a yearlong driver’s license suspension for your first offense.
Don’t Put Your Future At Risk. Call An Experienced Drunk Driving Defense Attorney.
We represent clients charged with traffic violations and criminal offenses in state and federal courts in Wayne, Oakland, Macomb and throughout Southeastern Michigan. Call us at 248-875-9770 or use the convenient email contact form to schedule a free consultation and case evaluation.